Chloé Albaret wins Swan best dance performance seasons 2019-2020 and 2020-2021

We are proud to announce that NDT 1 dancer Chloé Albaret has won the Dutch Swan for best dance performance 2020 for her role in Edward Clug’s creation APERTURE, which premiered on November 29, 2019 as part of the NDT 1 programme Soir Historique.

Chloé Albaret in 'APERTURE' (2019) by Edward Clug. Photo: Rahi Rezvani
Jury report

Albaret is praised in the jury report for her unique combination of sensuality and extreme control: “Albaret masters the dance languages of various choreographers in finesse and adds an extra mysterious, theatrical layer to her interpretations.[…]
[In] Aperture [she switches] phenomenally between restrained emotions and expressive desire. Her mastery of Edward Clug’s dance language is convincing and delicate in sharp, angular movements with a soft human touch.”

Besides Albaret, Maria Ribas in Sweet like a chocolate by ICK Dans Amsterdam, Anna Ol of the Dutch National Ballet in Metamorphosis by David Dawson, Karolina Szymura in Arise by Astrid Boons by De Châtel sur Place and Korzo, and Christian Yav and Sedrig Verwoert in They/Them were nominated.

It was my first time working with Edward. I really enjoyed his openness and honesty throughout the creation as well as his specific choreographic language. He often comes up with unexpected ideas that make the process alive and fun creating the particular atmosphere of the piece. I like the way Edward creates a unique world on stage that reflects his personality and he invites us to be a part of it.

Nominations, but no prizes

Every year, during Festival de Nederlandse Dansdagen, it is announced who will win the Swan for ‘best dance performance’ and which performance will receive the Swan for ‘best dance production’. The nominations for these awards have already been announced in the previous months. This year there were more nominees than ever before. A total of 10 dancers and choreographers had the chance to win one of the dance prizes.

Due to the closure of theaters on March 12, 2020, many performances have not been able to take place, and as a result many premieres and dance performances have not been performed and have remained unseen last season 2019-2020. The Dance Jury has therefore chosen to nominate dancers and performances last year for the special performances they have delivered in the field of performance and development of dance art, so as not to let the interrupted season pass unnoticed and unnoticed. For the 2020-2021 season, nominees were added. Therefore, no prizes were awarded in 2020, but the award ceremony took place during the opening program of the Dutch Dance Days 2021 on October 1, where the winners of the two previous – heavily reduced – seasons were announced.

Video interview with Chloé

Also watch this interview with Chloé about her nomination for the Zwaan for ‘most impressive dance performance’ 2019:

[devlooksy_asset id=17948]


The VSCD Dance jury 2019-2020 and 2020-2021:

Rob van Steen (chairman), director Theaters Tilburg
Leo Spreksel, former artistic director of Korzo, dramaturge / consultant
Violien Vocks, programmer Parkstad Limburg Theaters
Brigitte De Goeij, De Goeij Culture and Affairs
Jasper Weck, marketing & programming Theater de Veste
Swantje Schäuble, theory teacher at LMIPA, NBA and Codarts
Marcelle Schots, dance critic
Iselle Claassens, Programmer Parktheater Eindhoven
Geesje Prins, head of programming for the Zuiderstrandtheater (now Amare)