Chloé Albaret nominated for Dutch ‘Zwaan’ best dance performance 2020

5 October 2020

The VSCD dance awards have nominated NDT 1 dancer Chloé Albaret for a Dutch Swan “Best Dance Performance 2020” for her role in Edward Clug’s creation APERTURE. This work premiered on November 29, 2019, as part of the NDT 1 program Soir Historique.

Jury report
Albaret is praised in the jury report for her unique combination of sensuality and extreme control:

“Albaret has mastered the dance languages of different choreographers down to the finest detail and adds an extra mysterious, theatrical layer to her interpretations. […]
[In] APERTURE [she] phenomenally switches between restrained emotions and expressive desire. Her mastery of Edward Clug’s dance language is convincing and delicate in sharp, angular movements with a soft human touch. ”

Besides Albaret, Maria Ribas have also been nominated for her role in Sweet like a chocolate by ICK Dans Amsterdam and Christian Yav and Sedrig Verwoert in They / Them.

Nominations, but no prizes
Every year during the Dutch Dance Festival, the winner of the Swan for “best dance performance”  is announced as well as which performance receives the Zwaan for “best dance production”. The nominations for these awards have already been announced in the preceding months. This year, during this online edition of the Dutch Dance Festival, the VSCD Dance Jury will for the first time not award the prizes.

Due to the closing of theaters on March 12, 2020, many performances could not take place, and as a result many premieres and dance performances were not performed and remained unseen. The Dance Jury has therefore chosen to nominate dancers and performances this year for the special achievements they have delivered in the field of performance and development of dance in order to let the broken season not pass unnoticed and unseen. But no prizes will be awarded this year. The choice from an incomplete offer is not a good choice. During the next festival, the winners of the two previous – greatly reduced – seasons will be announced.

[devlooksy_asset id=17953]

VSCD Dansjury 2020 consisted of:
Rob van Steen (chairman), director Theaters Tilburg
Leo Spreksel, former artistic director of Korzo, dramaturge / consultant
Violien Vocks, programmer Parkstad Limburg Theaters
Brigitte De Goeij, De Goeij Culture and Affairs
Jasper Weck, marketing & programming Theater de Veste
Swantje Schäuble, theory teacher at LMIPA, NBA and Codarts
Marcelle Schots, dance critic
Iselle Claassens, Programmer Parktheater Eindhoven
Geesje Prins, head of programming for the Zuiderstrandtheater