Boston Gallacher wins Piket Art Price 2020

17 November 2020

Congratulations Boston!

Nederlands Dans Theater (NDT) is proud to share the news that NDT 1 dancer Boston Gallacher was declared the winner of the 2020 Piket Art Prize for Dance, on November 16. The Piket Art Prizes for Painting and Theater were respectively won by Lorena van Berkingen and Tessa Jonge Poerink. They will all receive a cash prize of 8,000 euros and a work of art created and designed by former nominee Suzie van Staaveren.

Photo Boston with Piket Art Prize: Janneke van Beek

About Boston

Boston Gallacher (1996, Glasgow, Scotland) was educated at the Dance School of Scotland and Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance. They worked with Mark Baldwin and Itzik Galili at the Rambert Company in 2016. In August of 2016, they successfully auditioned for NDT 2, and joined NDT 1 in August 2019. In their time with the company, they have danced in works by Marina Mascarell, Medhi Walerski, Sharon Eyal & Gai Behar, and Sol Leόn & Paul Lightfoot, among others.

Jury report

When the jury first nominated Boston two years ago, the nomination was based on the promise of Boston’s undeniable talent. They have since undergone a spectacular creative development and have delivered on this promise in every way. Boston “just blows us away”, read the jury report.



Due to the corona measures, it was not possible to organize an award event which forced the organization to look for an alternative. In compliance with the corona measures, the winners were surprised one-by-one with help from family members and dance professionals. Separate recordings have been made of this, which will be released on Friday 20 November via all social media channels of the Piket Art Prizes.

Boston with Donnie Duncan Jr. in 'A Hefty Flood' by Marina Mascarell
the jury

The jury of 2020, which assesses which young talents stand out in each discipline, consisted of chairman Winnie Sorgdrager (former minister, former chairman of the Council for Culture), Suzanne Swarts (director Museum Voorlinden), visual artist Joncquil de Vries, Stacz Wilhelm (former Artistic Director production house Korzo), Isabelle Chaffaud (MEYER-CHAFFAUD), John de Weerd (programmer Zaal 3 and the Parade) and Antoinette Jelgersma (actress Het Nationale Theater).


about the piket art prizes

Since 2014, the Piket Art Prizes have been awarded to young artists who have a connection with the city of The Hague, either through developing their practice there and/or because their work makes a stimulating contribution to The Hague’s cultural climate. Name giver Frederik Hendrik Piket (1927-2011), lawyer and member of the Senate for the CHU (later CDA), was a great lover of art and culture. After his death, a foundation was created that annually aims to award three artists under the age of 30 with a stimulation prize.

Boston with Meng-ke Wu in 'APERTURE' by Edward Clug