Franck Chartiers 'The Lost room' wins Swan

NDT is very proud of choreographer Franck Chartier who won the prestigious 2016 'Swan award for most impressive dance production' for his work The lost room! The jury:

"In his aesthetics, choreographer Franck Chartier finds a wondrous connection to the Kylián tradition. He embeds this consciously and with conviction and devotion, makes passionate use of special effects, pours suspense and (macabre) humor into one vessel and in the finale, floors us with a sublime and overthrowingly fragile duet."


The VSCD dansjury consists of Anita van Dolen, Fons Dejong, Stella van Leeuwen, Nada Mounzer , Dave Schwab, Jasper Weck and Liesbeth Wildschut.

The Dutch Swans are also called, the 'Oscars of dance' and are awarded every year at the Dansdagen Festival In Maastricht. Last year NDT's dancer Jorge Nozal won a Swan for his role in Thin Skin by Marco Goecke.

The lost room - Franck Chartier