A Taste of NDT Summer Intensive

Join our online workshops

From June 21 to June 25, we will host several online workshops during A Taste of NDT Summer Intensive!

With several repertoire and improvisation workshops, as well as exclusive insights behind the scenes, we wish to inspire young dance students and dance professionals from all over the world and to give them the NDT experience as much as possible. You can join the workshops, which will be taught by our own NDT dancers and artistic staff, via Zoom for free.

Since we want A Taste of NDT Summer Intensive to be a place where we can exchange knowledge and learn from each other in various ways, there will also be panel talks and coaching sessions with NDT dancers, teachers and repetitors.

Programme

NDT Repertoire Workshop

Develop your dance talent by working together with one of our dancers on the repertoire by our choreographers. You will experience how we work and are introduced to the many different dance languages at NDT. The first workshop will focus on NDT 2 repertoire and in the second workshop, we will dive into the repertoire of NDT 1.

 

Panel Talk

‘What does it mean to be a dancer in this changing world’

In 2020 and 2021, unprecedented cancellations of ‘in-person’ dance training and live performances have challenged students, artists, teachers, choreographers, technicians, and directors to stay afloat creatively and financially. More distinctly, dance is beginning to reimagine how to exist with even more emphasis on technology and site due to the pandemic and social awareness due to global social justice uprisings.

Join us in a panel discussion about how current changes in society are influencing the contemporary dance community. We will discuss several topics concerning this matter with members of our artistic staff and dancers of NDT 1 & NDT 2 and there will be room for your questions and remarks.

 

 

Improvisation Workshop

Join one of our dancers in this improvisation workshop where you will discover new ways of expressing yourself through movement. With attention for subtlety and refinement, opening a physical world together, you will have the opportunity to explore improvisation with dancers all over the world.

 

Join Class With NDT 1

Have you always wanted to take a ballet class with the dancers of NDT? This is your chance! Picture yourself in the studio during the morning class of NDT 1 with teacher Christophe Dozzi.

 

Watch Rehearsal NDT 2 + Q&A

We will give a sneak peek during a live NDT 2 rehearsal. Afterwards you will have the opportunity to talk with the artistic leader of NDT 2 Fernando Hernando Magadan and a few of the dancers and ask all your questions.

 

Artists Exchange

Take this opportunity to have a personal conversation with one of our dancers. The dancers of NDT 1 and NDT 2 will share their insights with you. You will be divided into small groups and have the possibility to discuss specific issues that are relevant to you. There is room to ask questions, share your thoughts and have a discussion together.

 

Schedule

time slots

In order to make the activities as accessible as possible to dancers from all over the world, the workshops will be divided into two time slots: Eastern and Western. The several workshops and activities will take place from Monday, June 21 to Wednesday, June 23, 9:00 – 12:00 (CEST) as the Eastern time slot and from Wednesday, June 23 to Friday, June 25, 16:00 – 19:00 (CEST) as the Western time slot.

The content of the programmes is the same: the programme in the Eastern time slot that starts on Monday will be repeated in the Western time slot from Wednesday onwards. Depending on your location, you can choose which time slot you register for. We kindly ask you not to sign up for the same activity twice, for example, the NDT 2 Repertoire Workshop on Monday June 21 and NDT 2 Repertoire Workshop 2 on Wednesday June 23. We have a limited number of places available and we want to give as many dancers as possible the opportunity to participate!

Eastern Time slot – 9 AM to 12 PM (CEST)

Different Eastern timezones:

  • Sydney: 5 PM to 8 PM (AEST)
  • Tokyo: 4 PM to 7 PM (JST)
  • Shanghai: 3 PM to 6 PM (CST)
  • Bangkok: 2 PM to 5 PM (ICT)
  • India: 12.30 PM to 3.30 PM (IST)
  • Istanbul: 10 AM to 1 PM (TRT)

Find out what time the workshops start in your timezone

Monday, 21 June 
NDT 2 Repertoire Workshop

9 AM – 10.30 AM (CEST)

Panel Talk

11 AM – 12 PM (CEST)

Tuesday, 22 June
Improvisation Workshop

9 AM – 10.15 AM (CEST)

Join class with NDT 1

11 AM – 12.15 PM (CEST)

Wednesday, 23 June
NDT 1 Repertoire Workshop

9 AM – 10.30 AM (CEST)

Artists Exchange

11 AM – 12 PM (CEST)

WESTERN TIME SLOT – 4 PM to 7 PM (CEST)

Different Western timezones:

  • Alaska: 6 AM to 9 AM (AKDT)
  • Vancouver, Canada/ Los Angeles: 7 AM to 10 AM (PDT)
  • Mexico City: 9 AM to 12 PM (CDT)
  • New York: 10 AM to 1 PM (EDT)
  • Rio de Janeiro: 11 AM to 2 PM (BRT)
  • Nuuk: 12 PM to 3 PM (PDT)

Find out what time the workshops start in your timezone

Wednesday, 23 June 
NDT 2 Repertoire Workshop

4 PM – 5.30 PM (CEST)

Panel Talk 

6 PM – 7 PM (CEST)

Thursday, 24 June 
Watch rehearsal NDT 2 + Q&A 

4 PM – 5 PM (CEST)

Improvisation Workshop

5.45 PM – 7 PM (CEST)

Friday, 25 June
NDT 1 Repertoire Workshop 

4 PM – 5.30 PM (CEST)

Artists Exchange

6 PM – 7 PM (CEST)

Registration

All intermediate/advanced dancers age 15 and up can register for the FREE workshops and activities within the program of A Taste of NDT SI. You register per individual workshop/activity, this way you can compose your own Summer Intensive program. Due to limited available spots, please make sure you can participate in the activity before you register.

Register here for Eastern time slot:

Eastern time slot workshops

Register here for Western time slot:

Western Time Slot workshops

Impression of an online workshop with NDT 1 dancer Luca Tessarini. Photo: Sacha Grootjans.

Cancellation of NDT Summer Intensive 2021

As prevously mentioned, we have decided that the NDT Summer Intensive, our yearly professional training program, will again not take place in 2021. In light of the current events and the developments around Covid-19, the risks of bringing together a large group of dance talents from all over the world is too big.

Instead, we are very happy to organize this online version with A Taste of NDT Summer Intensive, giving us the possibility to stay in touch with dance talent from all over the world and share our love for dance together.

Read the full news message